+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread: Is SMM (social media marketing) better than SEO?

Is SMM (social media marketing) better than SEO?

Hello

I am new here but I have some experience of both SEO and SMM, I am working as web mkt. executive with Wisitech. I have noticed that for short term visitors/leads oriented projects SMM seems to be better strategy than SEO. What’s your take on it.

I think it depends on the niche - I think some niches are more or less impervious to seo, such as mom and dad blogs - all of the most popular blogs in this niche are impossible to find via Google search, yet they get staggering traffic, all because of the social side of web marketing.

Welcome to the forums, Shobhna

As Robert said, it depends on the niche.

It also depends on how you use social media. Some might say that diligent social media brings SEO results, too, if you do it with awesome, link-worthy content and tools.

That being said, you still need SEO to benefit from social media, too. It all works together.

Just as in the case of the recent Seth's write up, you need to do all things well: SEO and branding, and in your case it's social media and SEO.
    Yura

Welcome: I took a look at your company site. You'll probably do some of both.

Both work. IMHO, seo is sort of like a super yellow pages in the traditional sense that when people looked for a business or service in the yellow pages they looked for a category and contacted businesses off those lists. They already had some "buying intent" in mind and then called. Search is like that. Optimizing for the "buying intent" phrases is powerful.

Social media is like the super version of everyone you know telling you that some product or service is the best you can find (super word of mouth). All those wonderful testimonials make that product/service sound great. If you become interested in that product/service you are apt to go the one reccomended by everyone.

Social media is growing and can do much more.