+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: What are the disadvantages to having 2 tracking scripts running on the same page?

Hybrid View

What are the disadvantages to having 2 tracking scripts running on the same page?

I am curious about this. I want to use GA on a site, but it already had Hitslink running. I do not want to give up histlink because it has some features that GA does not do as well. The same applies to GA, it has features that Hitslink does not. Is there any problem if I ran 2 tracking scripts on the same pages? I could use an includ file (footer) and add the code there, or I could do it manually for each page.

What do you think?

I don't see why there would be a problem with it. Load time might suffer a tad but it might not be enough to notice. I'd definitely do it as an includes file but I'm not a designer or coder really so consider the source.

You may want to read this and not rely on GA heavily:
    http://www.aimclearblog.com/2007/08/...d-off-clients/
    Yura

Thanks for the heads up. I will say that I am very familiar with GA as I use it organically for some web sites. There are some things that GA provides that the other does not, but GA has a few things that I know works that I need.

I do not intend on relying soley on GA for this, but I would like to use it, but I am not sure if running 2 tracking scripts on a page (include file footer) would be a problem with SEO. Tracking is essential, but SEO is vital.

I am using GA and Statcounter scripts together... I dont have any issues with the numbers... It may affect the bandwidth but negligible... I felt.

If i lose money I can't blame them.. I should know how to use/relay them.
    Search Engine Marketing India "With a Virtue of being Practical...!!!".
    DD:"If you can't explain it simply, you don't understand it well enough."