+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: "Spamming the search engines" and PPC for local

"Spamming the search engines" and PPC for local

I read Dazzlin's coverage of Pubcon at SERoundtable and was inspired by her coverage of what Jake Baille said.

I've pm'd a little with this guy. He is evidentally very well known in the industry--Randfish has called him one of the masters.

Two years ago he got into Local- developing and enhancing a version of a local engine.

Boy did his words ring true. I've been doing this stuff for a few years and learned by paying attention in forums like this and experimenting.

Jake spoke very well to things I've learned and applied. What I got out of DD's summary was a far simpler and better descriptionto develop your own sites or how to optimize and manage ppc for clients. I wanted to reitenate some of that here.

Keyword Expansion

Geo keyword expansion:

City and state names and zip codes. Also use initials and local familiar terms for the city(s).

He described non obvious terms: neighborhoods, area codes, counties, airport codes and metro areas. Town names have worked very well for me also (the famous DD method). Also add directional descriptions-like Northern Virginia or Western New York. They work well. He mentioned airport codes- LAX. Also use the locals' name for a neighborhood - The loop rather than downtown Chicago.

Product Service phrases

Jake suggested terms like: product names, brand names, sku's, slang/industry terms, government terms, regional names for products (pop versus soda)

I've used about a dozen variations for my service. They all add up.

Use Ads. It really works. (I can vouch for that) Make sure that if you have a geo term in the ad-have that geo term in the landing page.