Closed Thread
Page 1 of 9 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Thread: Help me Twitter

Help me Twitter

OK, I've gotten into Facebook and LinkedIn but I'm a bit confused by twitter (maybe I'm just old). Can you guys tell me how I can use it to improve my life, business or just eat up all my spare time.

I'm particularly confused by how I find the people I might be interested in following.

Unfortunately, I've very little knowledge about that stuff. Frankly, my impression on it is, just as a time killer. Recently I've read this one which you may find helpful: http://www.sitepoint.com/blogs/2009/01/15/twitter-seo/
    Search Engine Marketing India "With a Virtue of being Practical...!!!".
    DD:"If you can't explain it simply, you don't understand it well enough."

Oh you've come to the right place to ask your Twitter question, young one!

First, go here - http://twitter.com/DazzlinDonna

Follow me, of course. But then look at all the little pics in the sidebar of who I'm following. Click on the View All link just under them. Scroll thru the list and click on the Follow button of those folks you also want to follow because u know of them thru me (and the rest of us here).

You can do the same with anyone else's group of people that they follow. I'd suggest starting out with maybe 50 or so people.

Next, download a twitter client of some kind. I like TwitKit because it displays in the sidebar of my FF browser, but everyone has their favorites. Using a client is much better than using Twitter's site though, so find one.

Now, use Twitter in much the same way you would use any Instant Messaging client, only now you are IM'ing with a whole bunch of folks at once.

It's best not to judge Twitter for at least a month. You won't get it right away. You kind of have to meld into it over time.

But when the lightbulb goes on, it's bright!

Don't think of it as a marketing tool either. Just use it strictly as a connection tool. The rest takes care of itself.