+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Thread: New MSN Algo

New MSN Algo

Hey guys, you hijacked my thread and got it closed. Is that fair and right?

The MSN algo comment I made IS new, changes in my area for only about a week, whereas the thread Michael referred to is from February.

Anthony, as a former research scientist, I can assure you that it takes quite a while for research results to go into the big leagues of actual use, and most don't make it at all.

I'm sure that the new MSN algorithm has other features, but to get on the first page where I am, it is pretty clear that having the KW in your domain name (or at least early in the URL) is critical.

expat, I wasn't saying that it was the same update, I was pointing to that thread, specifically meant to point you to post #16 by ep. The fact that they were putting more weight on the url wasn't new is all I meant.

I'm still not sure it is a new algo update though. I was more under the impression that they had dropped part of their index, therefore shuffling the results, as some sites lost backlinks. Did you compare the results you are seeing with the inanchor?

-Michael
    Free Image Meta Search
    SEO Tools
    Poetry

Blog Smackdown!
    Skitz is very clear about what behaviour caused him to start this site up. His ego is way too big and fully engaged - rmccarley

It was just too much text. I couldn't read it. - rmccarley

I'm not a prosecutor, but Dave thinks I should play one on T.V.

I would find it hard to believe that its critical. That would seem to be taking quite a step backward wouldnt it? What makes you think that MSN is giving it more weight? Are you sure the rankings cant be attributed to other factors?